Tried going carp fishing today. Really had no idea what I was doing, but gave it a shot. Tried fishing the Toms River down off route 166. I bought some dough bait,but it seemed to come off right after it hit the water!! Any advise on where when and how to fish for carp would be appriciated!!! Also what kinds of other baits that can be used. Thanks......

Posted Tue Oct 22, 2013 4:17 pm

I use hot dog chunks soaked in maple syrup for carp and catfish. It works great for me. Give it a try.

Posted Wed Oct 23, 2013 12:31 pm

Ok... Im new to carp fishing as well... Just started this past summer. I have learned a ton since then. My fisrt 5 or 6 trips were rough... got skunked every time...OK... there isnt enough room here to get into everything... but here are the basics.... first location...carp are in almost every lake and stream... so I would suggest Cooper River... Newton Creek, Timber Creek, or Woodbury Creek. Second.. BAIT- start with the most basic... sweet corn. Use a size 4 wide gap hook. Leader size a 4 to 6 inches. Tied to a swivel. Heavy sinker... 3oz.. Reason.. when carp suck up bait... the heavy weight hooks them before they can blow it out... NOTE_ use a baitrunner reel or keep you bail open or you will lose your rod/reel. The run is incredible and powerful. Also, bait the area you are fishing in with a mix of oats and creamed corn... There is a device you use called a spomb to cast out the bait in the area you are going to fish in. If you can, bait the area the night before as well as when you are fishing there. Have patience.. they will come... I leave my bait in the water from 30 to 45 mins before I bring it in to check it... there is way more to tell you about equipment, rigs, methods... but this is good to start. Also, if you want... join the new group I created to help myself as well as others. Its called Carping in South Jersey. Carp fishing is becoming more and more popular in the states. It is a true gamefish... catch some, experience the fight...