I'm new to it... happy to be in it.... and enjoying my time as a father...

But DAMMIT to all hell has it been interfering with my fishing.

I haven't fished since my son was born... gonna try and get out tonight with Justin... aka Jrhbass.

If I do get out of the house... I'm gonna be one rusty looking fisherman. I wonder if my tacklebox is in good shape? been a while since I laid eyes on her.

Posted Thu Aug 09, 2012 10:46 am

Congrats on fatherhood Exclamation

You don't have to stop fishing, because you have a son. This is what fishing is all about. Passing on your talent and bonding.

When my son was born it didn't stop me from fishing. My wife and I just took him along and fished the easy access hot spots. I fished and she watched my son on the blanket. We even night fished for catfish.

When he could walk by himself. I took him along and gave him a polie. Go Fish This is when I stopped fishing. I had to bait the hook, cast the line and take the fish off the hook after he reeled it in. He out fished me all the time, because I had very little time to fish for myself. A stringer of trout is a stringer of trout no matter who caught them.

My son still fishes with me but I don't have to bait his hook and such. However my dog "Jetty" likes to fish and I have to bait the hook, cast the line for her. After the line is cast, she jumps up on the boat seat and waits for the rod tip to dip. When this happens she either whines or barks, depending on how much the tip moves.

Good luck and tight lines

Posted Thu Aug 09, 2012 12:20 pm

Thanks!

Yea, i can't wait to start bringing him fishing. He's only 2 months now, so a little while longer until I can bring him with me.

I joke with the wife about wearing him on my chest. My wife laughs... but sometimes, I'm dead serious.

Posted Thu Aug 09, 2012 1:15 pm